Virling vs Triple Whale: a Triple Whale alternative for attribution
Triple Whale is an ecommerce analytics platform for brands, with ad attribution and pricing based on store revenue. Virling is open-source revenue attribution for stores and subscriptions, at a flat price or free on your own server.
| Virling | Triple Whale | |
|---|---|---|
| Open source | Yes, AGPLv3 | Not stated in their docs |
| Self-host | Yes, one Rust binary with embedded storage. No Postgres, ClickHouse or Redis. | Not offered. Every plan on their pricing page is a hosted subscription |
| Revenue | Read from Stripe, Paddle, Shopify, WooCommerce, Dodo Payments, Polar, LemonSqueezy, Creem or RevenueCat with a key, no event code | Store syncs for Shopify, WooCommerce and BigCommerce, plus Recharge and Skio for subscriptions. Stripe is not on their integrations page |
| Retention by first-payment channel | Yes. Customers are grouped by the channel of their first payment, and renewals keep it | First and last click can be compared. Whether renewals keep the first channel is not stated in their docs |
| AI assistant visits | Yes. AI assistants are their own channel, with revenue | Their help center suggests a post-purchase survey for AI tools |
| AI crawler fetches | Yes. Pages each AI company's bots read; every fetch once you add the server snippet | Not stated in their docs |
| AI answers tracking | Yes. Your buyer questions asked to ChatGPT, Claude, Perplexity and Gemini every week. Paid hosted plans, or your own keys when self-hosting | Yes. AI Visibility tracks how often the brand appears in AI answers; the free plan includes ChatGPT mentions |
| MCP server | Yes, read-only | Yes, read-only, on Foundation, Automate and Enterprise plans |
| Price | Free to self-host. Hosted: $19 a month, or $79 a month for agencies. Every hosted plan starts with a 14-day free trial. | A free plan. Paid plans are priced by annual GMV and package, on 12-month terms |
Based on Triple Whale's public docs and pricing, checked on 1 November 2026: pricing, free plan, integrations, post-purchase survey, AI Visibility, MCP. See their site for current features and pricing. Something out of date? Tell us.
When Triple Whale is the better fit
You run a Shopify, WooCommerce or BigCommerce brand with real ad spend, and want ad platform data, attribution, AI visibility and more in one hosted platform, with pricing that grows with your GMV.
When Virling is the better fit
You sell through Stripe, Paddle, Dodo Payments, Polar, LemonSqueezy, Creem or RevenueCat as well as a store, want retention by first-payment channel and AI crawler data, or want a flat price or your own server instead of pricing by GMV.
Frequently asked questions
Is there an open-source Triple Whale alternative?
Virling is open source under AGPLv3 and can run on your own server. It reads Shopify, WooCommerce and seven other payment providers and credits each payment to the visit before it.
How is Triple Whale priced?
Triple Whale has a free plan. Paid plans are priced by annual GMV and the package you choose, on 12-month terms. Virling is free to self-host, and hosted plans are $19 or $79 a month.
When is Triple Whale the better fit?
When you run an ecommerce brand with real ad spend and want ad platform data, attribution and AI visibility in one hosted platform.
Related reading
- Why Shopify orders show up as Direct, and how to fix it
- Why GA4 revenue doesn't match Stripe or Shopify
- Is AI search traffic worth anything? How to measure it
Other comparisons: Virling vs DataBull, Virling vs DataFast, Virling vs Fathom, Virling vs Google Analytics, Virling vs Matomo, Virling vs Mixpanel, Virling vs Plausible, Virling vs PostHog and Virling vs Umami.